UC Tech Awards Program 2023: Background & Application Form

The UC Tech Awards Program celebrates the achievements of UC employees in designing, implementing or managing high-impact technology initiatives that drive digital transformation. It promotes increased engagement in the UC Tech community by recognizing the technology contributions of university faculty and staff across a range of roles, including IT, research, academia, and business.

The UC Information Technology Leadership Council sponsors the program each year and selects awardees based on the complexityimpact and mission alignment of their work affecting digital transformation. The awards provide universitywide recognition for technology efforts of strategic importance that advance the university’s mission of teaching, research, public service, and patient care; and/or improve the effectiveness of business operations.

The UC Tech Awards program has been an integral part of the UC Tech Conference since 2001, when created the Larry L. Sautter Award for Innovation in Information Technology (IT). Since then, the program has grown to seven awards.

The individuals and teams who are selected each year receive community-wide recognition and visbility, thanks to an awards ceremony, a press release, social media outreach and more. Learn more about the seven award categories and Apply now – recommend an individual colleague to share the important work being done across the university.


  1. Individuals or teams, including those who were equally involved in large projects.
  2. Staff and faculty employed by the University of California.
  3. Technology-centered functions, including technology, research, academic, and business support units.
  4. Those working in cross-location and cross-functional teams are encouraged to participate or nominate their colleagues.

UC Tech Annual Awards Categories

The awards recognize individuals, teams or project teams, as specified below. Up to one Golden Award and one Silver Award is awarded for each award category.

1. Larry L. Sautter Award for Innovation in Information Technology – The award is
given to an individual or a team for having implemented an innovative technology initiatve that has had significant impact on the university’s academic/research mission, student life, business operations, patient care, or public service mission. Innovation is defined as the new application of technology, the creative use of limited resources, or an emphasis on collaboration to solve a problem.

2. DEI Leadership Award (For individuals only) – Recognizes the leadership of an individual in advancing diversity, equity, and inclusion in technical communities, as demonstrated by specific tactics to create vehicles that improve visibility, access and engagement of underrepresented populations.

3. IT Security Award – The award is given to an individual or team that advanced IT security at the University of California through awareness and training, policy, technical controls, and/or IT security hygiene. Projects that intersect with legal, privacy, and compliance are eligible.

4. Yvonne Tevis UC Collaboration Award – The award is given to an individual or team that conducted a strong collaborative technology initiative across two or more UC locations, across a UC campus and UC health system, and/or with other UC partners.

5. Mojgan Amini Operational Excellence Award – The award is given to an individual or team that transformed a business process (via reliability, speed, scale, efficiency, and/or effectiveness), whether through business process design, automation, customer service, digital transformation, or another initiative.

6. Design Award – The award is given to an individual or team that transformed one or more touch points through the application of various design disciplines (e.g., visual design, interaction design, user experience (UX) design, customer experience (CX) design and/or industrial design to improve usability and/or create a more elegant experience for everyone, including people with disabilities.

7. Sustained Impact Award (For individuals only) – The award is given to an individual who, over time, has contributed significant expertise, passion, and commitment to the university as evidenced by a portfolio of work supporting the technology arena.

Selection Criteria

The IT Leadership Council selection committee assesses submissions along the following criteria:

1. Complexity – How complex was/were the problem(s) addressed?
2. Impact – How impactful was the work – number of individuals impacted, and/or depth of impact?
3. Mission alignment – Does the work advance the university’s mission or key values of access, affordability, and excellence?

About the IT Leadership Council’s Selection Committee

The UC Tech Awards Program selection committee is composed of five members of the IT Leadership Council, including one member of the UC Office of the President and four others from locations who rotate annually. The committee determines the award winners on the basis of submitted materials and in accordance with the selection criteria. The names of committee members are listed on the program website after the selections have been announced each year (~June 1, 2023).


  1. Do I /we apply for an “individual” or “team” award? The IT Leadership Council welcomes individual to apply. If the individual is leader of a project team, that individual can acknowledge those who worked on the project with them in their application and during the awards ceremony, but the focus will be on the individual leader. On the other hand, if project teams would like to apply as a group, they are also welcomed to do so.
  2. How far back in time can I submit projects? If you chose to celebrate a project team, the project must be operational and have been implemented within the last three years.
  3. Is there a limit on the number submissions for one individual or team? No.

Application Instructions

The deadline for submission of applications is Monday, May 1, 2023, by 5:00 p.m. Use one form for each submission.

The information you will need to apply/nominate a colleague:

  1. Name, title, and email of the person submitting the application/recommendation.
  2. Name of individual or team being proposed for an award (Please limit team names to 60 characters)
  3. A descriptive narrative about the person or team – explaining their eligibility based on the criteria for that award (up to 1,000 words, ~1.5-2 pages) and includes:
    1. Describe the initiative(s) or portfolio of work that support the nomination.
    2. How they meet selection criteria (complexity, impact, and mission-alignment)
    3. How their success is measured/quantified
    4. The time during which the work was done.
  4. A summary (60-word limit, ~2 sentences) of the descriptive narrative, above.

Upcoming deadlines and key dates

  • May 1, 2023: Awards applications due at 5:00 p.m.
  • June 1, 2023: Winners are notified privately via email, IT Leadership Council Selection Committee names are shared/posted.
  • July 18, 2023: Evening awards presentation at UC Tech Conference, where award winners are announced, and certificates issued.
  • July 18, 2023: Press release issued, with follow-up news updates in UCNet and UCIT Blog news.

UC Tech Awards Program Contact

Laurel Skurko, Marketing & Communications, IT Services, UC Office of the President
Laurel Skurko
Marketing & Communications
IT Services, UC Office of the President

Each year, the IT Leadership Council chooses a gold and silver winner of each award type They look forward to reviewing submissions starting MondayMay 1, 2023, at 5:00 p.m. and to celebrating achievements of the UC tech community during the awards ceremony on Tuesday, July 18, 2023, on Day 2 of the UC Tech Conference at UC Berkeley.